Opening RAW

Discussion in 'Beyond the Basics' started by JohnMF, Dec 4, 2005.

  1. JohnMF

    JohnMF TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Messages:
    3,009
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    UK
    Can someone please tell me how i can open RAW images on my 20d?

    CS2 doesnt seem to recognise my camera so i cant access it.

    Ive tried the software that comes with the camera called "Digital Photo Professional" and that can see the camera either.

    Anyone know whats up?
     
  2. amoki

    amoki TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hamilton, New Zealand
    ON CS2 go to Adobe and download the RAW support file thingie I think. Lots of people will know more than I do.

    There are other ways to process RAW though: Picasa2 is a great starter programme , but RawShooter Essential 2005 is what most people here would recommend you to use when processing RAW files. Google around to get it. Both programmes are free BTW.
     
  3. Hertz van Rental

    Hertz van Rental TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Messages:
    16,728
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Where am I now?
    If your computer (and your programs) can't see your camera then it sounds like you haven't got the drivers installed.
    You should have got them with the camera - if not then go to the maker's website and they should be downloadable from there.

    (That simple enough, amoki? :lol: )
     
  4. 'Daniel'

    'Daniel' TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    Messages:
    1,507
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    Download the RAW plug in form adobe and it will work.
     
  5. JonK

    JonK I want MORE!!

    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    Messages:
    3,568
    Likes Received:
    140
    Location:
    Manitoba, Canada
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
  6. amoki

    amoki TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hamilton, New Zealand
    Damn you! Next time I'll make sure they sent you to Siberia instead of Vladivostok! (Wait.... Isn't both places bloody cold? Never mind :lmao: )

    (This guy is not a n00b, so he should be fine if you unleash the power of the 3000-words essay on him :p )
     
  7. JohnMF

    JohnMF TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Messages:
    3,009
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    UK
    thanks everyone for your help.

    The computer recognises the camera, I can drag and transfer files from the camera to my pc fine, but they become jpegs. My understanding with RAW is the you access the camera directly from an application and edited them from there?

    I downloaded the latest CS2 pluggin but dont know how it works. Do i go to File/import, or is it a different way?

    thanks
     
  8. thebeginning

    thebeginning TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    3,795
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Texas
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    this is probably an unecessary question, but are you shooting in raw?
     
  9. AIRIC

    AIRIC TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Messages:
    4,801
    Likes Received:
    83
    Location:
    Brooklin, Ontario, Canuckia
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Downlaoding from the camera to the computer would not change the file from raw to jpg.

    Eric
     
  10. thebeginning

    thebeginning TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    3,795
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Texas
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    that's what i was thinking...
     
  11. stingray

    stingray TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    a lot of cameras, the more consumery ones (oh woops Edit: 20D sorry, not so consumery but the following should still be applicable..), will save the raw file/digital neg whatever, on the camera WITH a jpeg preview type file. i had that same problem with CS2, you need to install the raw files/drivers from the adobe site, after checking whether your camera's raw is compatible.. there's a list on adobe.com somewhere. and then you have to open it up from within photoshop... i would suggest copying to your HD first though because it's faster to work with if it's off your slow camera and onto your hard drive (which hopefully is faster).
    good luck
     
  12. JohnMF

    JohnMF TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Messages:
    3,009
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    UK
    i downloaded the latest pluggin and PS can now access the camera if i got to file/import/eos 20d. Is that the right way to edit your raw images?

    Its still not letting me drag them to the HD without them converting to jpegs in the process

    Thanks
     

Share This Page