overlaping negatives???

99csvtoledo

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
im in an introductory black and white class at the local college. and for our final portfolio i wanna do something different. here is my idea. set my camera on a tripod take a pic of myself doing something....say washing dishes. then take the same pic but with me doing something else like....drying dishes. the effect i want to create is that there is two of my in the picture. kinda like with digital when you layer images and what not. my question is.... can i over lap the negatives so that i can print a picture of myself twice? or will the stationary objects (i.e. counter and sink and things like that) turn out to be twice as light as they normally would?

i geuss im asking if this is possible and would it look ok?

I'd shoot them on the same frame. I've never done it before, but if you search the forums, there's a lot of threads about double-exposures.

On that note, I recently learned that my Nikon FE has a double-exposure setting! I'm gonna have to try it.

you are making a double exposure and you need to be sure that your camera will allow you not to advance the film until you finish with the image

you will need to adjust the exposure to allow what each separate shot.

i have a Nikon N90s. can i set it so that it doesn't advance the film automatically??

After you take the first exposure, gently take up the slack with the re-wind knob and hold the knob. Press and hold the re-wind button and then re-cock the shutter. The film will not advance as you re-cock the shutter. This worked well with my Nikon F2 and Nikkormat FTN, hope it works for you.
...Terry

with the 90s you can't stop the advance method within the menu as you could the f100.
you could try the method mentioned above, but if you have a motor drive engaged it is going to be difficult.