Photoshop Cs2 and RAW

Discussion in 'Beyond the Basics' started by Peanuts, Nov 19, 2005.

  1. Peanuts

    Peanuts TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    2,905
    Likes Received:
    85
    Location:
    Canada
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    I just took sunset photos in RAW,a dn am now opening them in Photoshop CS2, but my problem is, it is automatically changing it around, and I am unalbe to get it back to it's original state (which I want). I can't seem to open it anywhere else. Does anyone know how to convert the RAW directly to Tiff/Jpeg without going through the editing process?

    Edit: I can right click and go to "Camera RAW defaults", but it shows it (the way I want it) for 1 second and then goes back.. ahh
     
  2. ajmall

    ajmall TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    Messages:
    656
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Leicester, UK
    hmm not sure. that sort of problem sounds like 2 things - either you have a setting associated with RAW files that you need changing or it might and error and you may need to reinstall.

    have you downloaded the latest plug-in for adobe's site for using RAW?
     
  3. Peanuts

    Peanuts TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    2,905
    Likes Received:
    85
    Location:
    Canada
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    If the latest one is 3.1 then yes I have. Would anyone know if the Rebel XTs software (whoop.s haven't uploaded that one!) open the RAW files 'normally". thanks
     
  4. Jeff Canes

    Jeff Canes No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    May 19, 2003
    Messages:
    6,190
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Hollywood, FLA USA
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Yes, the camera comes with RAW editing software, do you have the CD that came with the camera, it is on one of two[font=&quot]
    [/font]
     
  5. 'Daniel'

    'Daniel' TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    Messages:
    1,507
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    This happens with mines as well, I am not sure exactly how to rectify it. If you unlcik all the auto boxes it goes near or all the way back to what it wasw in camera although sometimes for me colour values are changed but I'm not sure if that those are the real ones and the xcamera screen misrepresented them(certainly true with the contrast and brightness).

    RAW is pretty robust anyway so wityh tweaking you should be able to get it to however you want.
     
  6. photobug

    photobug TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Pasco, WA
    Okay, I'm on a Mac, but this should be the same...

    After opening a RAW file in ACR you set the sliders where you want them and click the little right arrow next to the Image Settings box and click "Save New Camera RAW Defaults" which should set things the way you want them.

    Forgive the silly question- if you want to convert straight from RAW to jpeg without processing, wouldn't it be easier to just shoot jpegs in the first place?
     
  7. Peanuts

    Peanuts TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    2,905
    Likes Received:
    85
    Location:
    Canada
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    I will try the suggestions in a little bit.

    Well.. I would have shot in Jpeg ri, if I hadn't jumped out of the car when it was still rolling after shooting in all RAWS right before that. Unfortunately, I didn't think to change it to JPEG.

    Thanks everyone
     
  8. photobug

    photobug TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Pasco, WA
    Ah, well, I can relate to that. My main trick is leaving the iso at 1600 or something doofy like that.
     
  9. 'Daniel'

    'Daniel' TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    Messages:
    1,507
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    There's an ISO other than 1600!? :x I leave it on that alot and then wonder why I'm using 1/2000 shutter speeds with f/8 :lmao:
     
  10. Peanuts

    Peanuts TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    2,905
    Likes Received:
    85
    Location:
    Canada
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    I have tried to 'un-check' everything. but it still looks entirely different. I guess I am goign to have to dig out the Rebel XT box now!
     
  11. DocFrankenstein

    DocFrankenstein Clinically Insane?

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,646
    Likes Received:
    6
    If you want the same picture as the camera produces, use the Canon software and batch convert to tiff/jpeg.

    I find the CS sliders annoying, cause I have to un-click everything with every time.
     
  12. photobug

    photobug TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Pasco, WA
    Looks different than the lcd on the camera? It always will. The lcd displays the camera settings for saturation, contrast, etc. and the RAW file is unaffected by those settings.

    ACR default settings attempt to produce a neutral pic. If you change the settings and save them as outlined above you can come closer to what you see on the camera lcd without adjustments in ACR.
     

Share This Page