Photoshop - new user

JASvoboda

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I have been using film for over 30 years as an advanced amateur and switched to digital when the Nikon D100 came out. Recently I was motivated to step up to a Nikon D700 and purchased Photoshop CS4 since there seems to be so much written about it and I wanted to take my experience to another level. I just finished reading an editorial about how Photoshop has been on the market for 20 years and I am sitting here dumbfounded!

How does a new Photoshop user learn to use the software? The advantage of an early adopter to grow with the various releases of Photoshop over 20 years (or even 10 years) can't be underestimated.

Anyone have any suggestions?

here's a suggestion: open the programme. open an image file. go through all the menus and play with the parameters. notice what effect they have on the image (undo/redo). in general, just concentrate on what your image needs to be enhanced rather than altering it for the sake of using everything at your disposal. the editing concepts are much the same ones you would be familiar with using film and a darkrooom.

I have been using film for over 30 years as an advanced amateur and switched to digital when the Nikon D100 came out. Recently I was motivated to step up to a Nikon D700 and purchased Photoshop CS4 since there seems to be so much written about it and I wanted to take my experience to another level. I just finished reading an editorial about how Photoshop has been on the market for 20 years and I am sitting here dumbfounded!

How does a new Photoshop user learn to use the software? The advantage of an early adopter to grow with the various releases of Photoshop over 20 years (or even 10 years) can't be underestimated.

Anyone have any suggestions?
Just start using it. You can just tinker and be generally directionless or you can get some guides: