Photoshop technique question

hacksaw35

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am just learning Photoshop right now, and I have seen a bunch of photos like this one...

http://flickr.com/photos/valpopando/331628381/in/set-72157594327558179/

...with such vibrant colors. I was wondering what kind of technique this is and if it's a a lot of work. Thanks for the help.

123.gif

It's just a ton of saturation. You can get the effect with some types of film and on digital, you just crank up the saturation up all the way.

He has the same effect in many of his photos. You can't do this only by increasing the saturation. It's HDR.

HDR is an adventure in itself. Look in the sample folder in your photoshop CS2 installation for some images to play with the Merge to HDR command (under File/Automate/Merge to HDR). I have experimented with HDR a little and it can produce richer results. In Photoshop, it produces a 32-bit image with a wider range of shadows and highlights than you could normally capture with one shot. If you normally take 3 or 4 shots and try to layer mask them together, HDR is a much more effective method of getting the most out of multiple exposures.