Photoshop

fightheheathens

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
hi
i just got a new computer (dell and yes...it has vista, no arguing about how i should have gotten a mac, i wanted to but, the one i wanted was 3500 and i got an equivalent pc for 1500)
i got photoshop elements 5 and premier elements 3.0 with it. I've never used photoshop before. It seems a daunting task to learn all.
i am wondering if there are good web sites to learn from or a good book that i can pick up and plow through. i searched the forum but didnt find anything relevant. so suggestions?

Just so you know Adobe Photoshop, and Adobe Photoshop Elements are two very different products. There's some good tutorials here:

/EDIT: Link removed. Wrong site, and can't find the right one :(

Theyre not so much different, as Elements is the totally stripped down version of Photoshop CS. I say use Elements to get familiar with how things are laid out, and then move on to PS CS (if you can find it cheap enough).

And theres not a single thing wrong with Dells. Youll find them rated as high as Mac's by PROFESSIONAL (read: nonbiased) computer magazines/websites.

I have Elements 5 and in the instruction booklet that came with it it had a place you could go online with tutorials. However, most of the stuff that I have learned was just from having to use it. I learned most of the basics from the tutorials, but I just messed around with it until I got the hang of the program. That being said if you have any questions on how Elements 5 works PM me... I would love to try to help out.

Try Google'ing "Photoshop tutorials".

You can also try www.good-tutorials.com

I'd say start with Levels, Curves, Cropping and then Layers and Blending Options. If you need specific help with this stuff PM me.