Picture composition question.... Beginner

jdmartin8

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
We have had a VERY heavy ice storm here the last two days, and there are some beautiful shots to be had.

There is a particularly interesting view that I want to try and capture, but I am not sure how to compose it. Out here in a very rural area, there is an old train track that runs between two small wooded areas. Right now with the trees so heavy with ice, the branches are drooped over the track, in such a way that it creates a 'tunnel'. With the ice on the limbs, I think the picture would be striking. I'm just not sure how to compose it.

Would I center the tracks? Offcenter shot?

How would you do it?

Sorry, but I'm a rookie at this and always have questions.....

Thanks

Jim

There is no right or wrong when talking composition. There are some basic rules but rules were meant to be broken.

The solution is to try different things. Shoot lots & lots of photos. Film is cheap and digital shots are free.

One suggestion would be to get between the tracks and get low. Take the shot so that the tracks lead the viewer into the frame...through or into the ice tunnel. :disclaimer: watch out for trains :shock:

Some things to keep in mind...
When shooting with lots of snow in the frame, you camera's meter will try to under expose the shot, so you have to add exposure.

Use aperture priority and set a small aperture (high number like F16 or F22). This will ensure that all or most of the picture is in focus.

If it's really cold when you are out shooting, put your camera into a plastic bag before you bring it inside and/or let it warm up slowly so that you don't create any condensation inside the camera.
If it's cold bring extra batteries and keep them warm.

Good luck.