Please help me with my dissertation!

Robert West

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello, my name's Robert West, I'm a 21yr old photography student currently undertaking my third and final year of my Degree at the Norwich School of Art and design, Norfolk, England. As part of my degree i am required to write a 10,000 word dissertation on a subject of my choice.

The title of my essay is...

How does photographing an event in black and white, rather than colour, change the relationship between the viewer and the subject?

It sounds complicated, but is actually fundamentally quite simple. I want to explore how seeing an event in black and white can distance the audience from the reality represented, constantly reminding us that it is only a film, and that what is on the screen cannot harm us.

I guess you guys (and gals!) are the experts, so hopefully you will be able to help me.

Aside from the question above i would very much like your opinions on...

*How b/w photography can feel older, for example how it is used in films such as the Elephant man , Raging bull or Schindler's List.

*The 'immediacy' of colour war photography ie. how much more powerful horrific images can become if they are shot in colour.

*How b/w abstracts reality by removing one of the elements we can instantly understand.

*Whether, despite this, b/w can ever be MORE realistic than colour. ie. there is reality, and our perception of reality.

These are just a few ideas, if you have any other opinions regarding the relative strengths and weaknesses of b/w photography compared with colour please let me know.

Please also feel free to email me at [email protected]

Thank You.

well robert,

you pose a very intriguing qurestion. I'll just throw in my 2cents and if i doesnt help answer your question I appologize.