Pros, how did you get to where you are today?

im_trying11

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
i am very curious. what did you do to pursue your photography careers. Did you go to school after high school? are you happy you did what you did

I'm not a professional, I just play one on TV... but I will tell you this... there is WAY MORE to professional photography than pressing a button. If you look around and talk to pros in the field and see how they are doing, you will see that the ones making a good living are good to very good photographers, but are incredible business people.

Having good business skills is MORE important in running a photography BUSINESS than it is pressing that shutter. For you, the best place to get that info is represented by a degree in business.

My suggestion is to stay in school and get a real degree. This will take your photography places that 99% of the supreme top notch photographers can never go.

Look at Ansel Adams, one of the best photographers in the world... was pretty much penniless his whole life.

I advise you the same as Jerry. It's always a great idea to have a back up plan in case something goes wrong.

I see your asking about photography school. Beside technical parts and receive critics from a pro you can't learn to much. You should really go to college and go to some photography courses for example in your spare time. see what works best for you but do give up college for photography... i love photography that much that i really don't want to turn it in a full time job. At least that's what i feel. It's all about having fun, trying to put some food on your table in hard times is not that fun :)

Photography asks from you a lot of ambition and practice.

Mostly via networking. I had to network into a place where I get my relatively high-paying, low-emotion jobs.