Question on Shooting with 30D

ketan

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I recently purchased 30D (ranking it superior to XTi and disregarding the 2 megapixel difference).
I have lots of questions and considering that I am not a pro but just a serious amature, request you to kindly answer.
(1) I shoot my first photo on autofocus with built in flash and kit lens (18-55), indoor; it was night time. To my surprise it came out very soft and I found them not well exposed. When I saw it on my PC, I almost died of shock. Then I took the same shot with My S80 and found it much superior. I then went on to P mode with flash and increased sharpness in menu to one stop less than full. The photo were amazingly well exposed and sharp. Am I missing something in auto focus? When do you all use auto focus?
(2) The effect of sharpness increase is something different and not as we do edit in photoshop and increase.
(3) The Temeron 28-200 of my EOS300 (film) fits on 30D. Will it give good results or I need to buy a some lens meant for digital camera.

Ketan

(1) I assume you mean Av vs P mode. Setting the camera from another mode to P modes does not enable or disable the autofocus. Chances are the lighting conditions were not optimal for the camera settings. Not even a Canon 1Ds would look good if used outside of the range for the current settings. The softness was probably caused by a low shutter speed. If the S80 was able to get the same photo without the flash it probably increased the ISO of the camera to compensate for the low light. Regardless of the camera you have your only options in low light is to flash, raise the ISO and/or drop the Aperture, or use a tripod.

(2) The sharpness is the same theory but there are many different algorithms to do so. The camera has the advantage that it can work with the original 12bit image giving better results.