Question regarding photo ownership/contract

RYSKPhotos

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi,

I am new to this and have a question that I hope someone can please help me with.

I was a vet assistant at this animal hospital for about a year. I also, do photography on the side as a business. I would take some photos every now and then of animals, surgeries, etc. Now, I had to leave the company, due to medical issues, and they want my photos to use for promotional use.

I am not sure what kind of contract I should draw up, or how to go about this.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!

Tricky situation.

In most cases, in the US, the photographer owns the rights to their image as soon as the photo is taken.
The exception is when they are working under a contract that has them transferring the rights to someone else.

The way I understand it, if photography was an expected part of your job while working for that company, then it could be said/argued that they own the rights. But if photography was not an expected part of your job, then you would likely retain the rights to those images.

So assuming you do hold the rights, what are you expecting in exchange for the their use of the images? You can ask for anything you want, but they can obviously say no and leave it at that.

Do you want to retain some rights for the images, and only allow them limited usage? For example, you could sell them the right to use the images on their website and/or printed material, but you could retain the rights to sell the image to someone else etc. Would they want exclusive use of the images?

As you can imagine, a contract can start to get pretty involved. The best advice would be to talk to a lawyer who knows about or specializes in 'intellectual property'.

If it were me, I would probably prefer to keep things simple. I would let them use the images for anything that they want, and ask for some nominal fee in return.