Questions for the experienced photographers

lee380

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I have a goal that I would like to start a small business doing photography. However, I am a beginner at all the pertinent things that need to be learned. Yes, I can use a point and shoot, but I want to have a heck of a lot more talent than that, and rightly so if I want to do it professionally.

My questions for you are:

How did you learn the skills that you have acquired? Did you take courses, offline or online, or did you do something else?

What was it that made it all click in? Honestly, right now, I am confused. LOL

How long did it take you to acquire the skills and before you got into your profession?

Anything else you can add would be great.

Books you can recommend that may help a confused person like me, etc.?

Okay, first of all, don't confuse "professional", "experienced" and "skilled". While they should, very often those three terms do not go together. All "professional" means is that a person gets paid for the job they do. How much paid work they have to do to call themselves a professional is purely subjective. Talent is not something that can be learned. Skills and theory can be learned, talent is something that you either have or don't have, 'though you may not be aware you have it.

I gained my knowledge over the course of some twenty-five years through almost all of the methods you suggested with the exception of on-line. When I picked up my first Miranda back in 198...*cough* there weren't no "on-line"! As for the question of time, while I'm not a professional by my definition (I do make a little money at it, but it ain't what pays the bills), I'm still learning.