Raw file, whats the point?

Neocane

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I've already googled it and come up with nothing more than a myriad of opinions. I would like to hear it from you guys who actually have real world experience and not merely an opinion. What, if any, is the real and tangible advantage of shooting in "raw" format vs jpeg. I seem to get fairly decent results with jpeg files when processed in CS4 and LR2.

I apologize if this topic has been covered already, and probably has, but I'm a complete noob regarding digital photography and have found so far that TPF is a wealth of experienced information. I really appreciate any helpfull answers you guys can spare the time to give.

Furthermore, if RAW truly is the more exacting way to go, could you point me in the direction of a good tutorial regarding the "correct" way to process a RAW file, or is the software that came with my camera (Canon T1i) more than sufficient for the task?

Thanks again folks! :mrgreen:

JPEG loses quality over time. You start seeing artifacts appearing in images. RAW files are a loss less file format, so they stay pristine over time.

JPEG loses quality over time. You start seeing artifacts appearing in images. RAW files are a loss less file format, so they stay pristine over time.

JPEGs don't necessarily loose quality over time. But JPEG is a compression format, and each time you save a a JPEG file, it is compressed to save file size and thus can loose quality at each saving.

WHAT'S THE POINT?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!

Clearly you have some reading to do. In a short answer, RAW is a record of what every pixel saw when you took the shot. JPEG's are the image created by those pixels. By shooting RAW, you have the ability to adjust the image without losing any of the ratios between colours (ie. whitebalance, exposure, saturation etc) and can adjust sharpness etc. much more effectively.