Unimaxium

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Northeastern University, originally from Philly
Website
www.flickr.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Just wanted to say hi to everyone at the photo forum and give a little background on myself, so here goes:

1) Hi!

2) I'm a 17-year-old student from Philadelphia. I have wanted to get into photography for a while now, and this school year I'm finally taking a photography class as my high school arts elective. I've had a point-and-shoot digital camera since 2002, which I've used to about the best of its ability, but it still leaves me wanting more when it comes to good artistic photography (which I really want to get into). This year, when I started the class, my parents pulled an old 35mm Pentax K1000 SLR out of the back of a closet (I didn't even know they had an SLR, considering that they owned like 3 point-and-shoot 35mm cameras that they used instead). Well now I'm in the class, and I am really enjoying being able to control all my prints myself. I've always wanted to know how photography really works (in terms of processing, printing, what goes on in the darkroom, etc). It's great to finally be able to express this little artistic niche that I've had for so long (I'm no good at painting/drawing, yet I've always known I have a good eye for art). Photography is so great because whatever you print is something that was actually taken from the real world, yet you can still change it around and make it just right so that whatever you print is yours, and not just some generic snapshot that could be from anybody.