so i'm about to set up a home studio

flightless_beaker

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I've been a landscape and nature photographer for some time now. Not because that's what I like but because it is the most convenient for the equipment and resources I had. I've always wanted to get into portraiture and still life and my experience is limited. I have done portrait shoots before but with one flash and black and white film. They came out ok. Other portrait shoots have taken advantage of natural lighting. There is finally a spare room in my house and I have money to play with so now I want to make the push to do still life and portraits. Here's the deal though. I don't have a lot of money but I want good reliable lighting.

I did quite a bit of research and pricewise, the Flashpoint budget light kit seems ideal to me at the moment because of price, in particularly this kit: BFK4 Adorama Budget Studio Monolight Flash Kit #4, with 3 100 watt Second Budget Flashes, Light Stands, 2 Umbrellas, Barndoor, Snoot, and Softex Carry Case.. But reliability according to my research doesn't seem to be too good. I don't want to buy something that's going to crap out when I need it.

I read that people like Alien Bee lighting for the price and they say its a good value and the lights are reliable. But for the kit I want its considerably more, the Busy Bee package: AlienBees: Illuminating the Galaxy with Professional Photographic Lighting Equipment. Problem is this is way out of my price range and I'll have to scrounge up money I don't really want to spend unless its totally worth it.