So You Want to Shoot a Wedding

manaheim

Jedi Bunnywabbit
Staff member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I've been meaning to post a thread like this for a while. I figure we can all toss in whatever useful advice we have for people who want to shoot a wedding and then just try to refer them over to this thread whenever we get any of those posts.

The idea here is to keep this POSITIVE. Make the rash assumption that the person is not going to do anything... well... rash.. and that they have some technical clue and aren't going to get themselves in trouble.

Also feel free to argue with any of my points if you like... I'm not a seasoned pro like some folks on here. I've only done twelve or so weddings.

---

Ok, so I've shot probably twelve weddings as secondary and a couple as primary. I'm going to tell you what I've learned...

1. You must know your gear inside and out, and it has to be ROTE. I don't just mean you know to know how to work the controls, I mean that you have to know EXACTLY what setting you're going to need for every possible situation. High movement, low light, both, etc. You need to understand the quirks of your gear when put in extreme situations and how to compensate quickly.
  2. Your gear must be able to handle the situation. You're going to hit very low light situations and your camera and lenses need to be pretty much the best you can get to compensate. You're also going to need multiple focal lengths, and unless you are VERY fast on your feet and have multiple bodies, primes are not going to handle it.