SOLVED-Working on a usage agreement and need help

zeppelin390

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.wingsimaging.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello all, my name is Scott and I am a full-time real estate photographer.

My biggest customer started using my pics in TV commercials without discussing it with me, and they know how much I try to control my content, especially after the email I sent out to the their rental dept. for using my pics without asking.

With them being my most important customer, I give them preferential treatment and have given them numerous deals and discounts. I have given them close to 10k in discounts this year, the most important thing about that number is that its revenue I didnt collect.

I should have began our working relationship with a usage agreement contract, but I made the mistake of trusting them. Last week, I sent an email requesting a meeting to discuss all this, and I got no reply. I texted and got no response for 24 hours. I called and got attitude and an empty apology about how they feel bad about my frustration about not being treated with the respect I deserve.

Unfortunately, I need this customer right now. Moving forward, I need help on how to navigate this without pissing them off more. I need to come up with a usage agreement the benefits me and makes them feel like they are winning too. These people are spoiled rotten and are big enough in this area to get their way most of the time.

Thanks in advance- Scott

If you had no contract or usage agreement with them prior to taking the job it will be very difficult to near impossible at this point to get them to stop using them on tv.

The problem is if it went to court depending on your state law, they may be able to state that this was a contracted employment and the images belong to them. If a judge concludes that this would be a reasonable conclusion then you have no rights to the images at all.