Sony A200 , total newbie here . . .

LokoTripper

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey whaasup you guys . . .

Just got my Sony A200 (for $249.99 plus tax , clearance price from Target)

Anywho , I am a biker so I go out on rides (day time) and we go out to a lot of bars a lot , I do not have the money right now to invest on lens and all that stuff , all I have bought (suggestion from the guys here in the forum) is an 8gb compact flash card (150X) , a 67" monopod , a grip strap , and a case for my camera

1.- Ok so Like I mentioned before I would love to take some night shots at the bars we go to , what are the best settings for night shots at a bar (with moderate lightning) ??

2.- What are the best settings for those day time rides , I will be taking shots for when we stop to chillax or to take a break from those 7 or 8 hours rides ;) so we all be sitting down , or probably group posing

3.- What are the best settings for taking pictures at night with nothing but street lights ??

4.- And last but not least , I do sell some stuff (mostly phones and bike parts) on the internet , and I love to post some close up pics of the items I sell , I noticed that I can get better macro shots with my Canon powershot SD630 (6.0 mpx) than with my brand new Sony A200 , what gives ??

5.- What do I need to take good macro shots ??

Thanks you guys and sorry for the long and boring post :blushing:

1.- Ok so Like I mentioned before I would love to take some night shots at the bars we go to , what are the best settings for night shots at a bar (with moderate lightning) ??

The answer to this is a bit convoluted because really this changes so drastically place to place. You're going to need your aperture to be open all the way, with a high ISO and low shutter speed. If you don't know what these terms mean a nice starting place would be:

http://www.thephotoforum.com/forum/...ery/167288-camera-terms-acronyms-dummies.html