testing resize/sharpening plus question

AimeeGeis

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I've been having a hard time figuring out how to resize and sharpen for the web. So, this is my first attempt to get it right.

sooc
D40 (manual)
35mm f/2
1/250 sec.
ISO 200
no flash
white balance on auto
sooc-web.jpg
[/IMG]

My question is this: when I took this picture, the histogram showed a great exposure (no spikes on either side and the hill right in the middle) but when I got it home and put it in the computer (just a laptop) it looks all faded, overexposed, colors just off. can someone tell me why that is?

also, I used the unsharp mask on this to sharpen for the web but I don't really understand the numbers. I have CS2. can anyone tell me what my numbers should be?

Thanks so much!!!

but when I got it home and put it in the computer (just a laptop) it looks all faded, overexposed, colors just off. can someone tell me why that is?
Firstly, a laptop is typically not a great screen for editing photos.
Secondly, if your screen is not properly calibrated (laptop or not) then you really don't know if what you're seeing is accurate at all.
To properly calibrate a screen, you need a calibration device (like the Spyder) and the accompanying software.

also, I used the unsharp mask on this to sharpen for the web but I don't really understand the numbers. I have CS2. can anyone tell me what my numbers should be?
There are no 'correct' numbers....just what works for your particular image. And even then, it's mostly personal taste.

Search for tutorials on UnSharp Mask & Sharpening...there are many thousands of them across the web.

but when I got it home and put it in the computer (just a laptop) it looks all faded, overexposed, colors just off. can someone tell me why that is?
Secondly, if your screen is not properly calibrated (laptop or not) then you really don't know if what you're seeing is accurate at all.