The Sparrows Have Arrived!

pugnacious33

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
soundinsights.blogspot.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Winter officially begins for me when these guys show up at my feeders. Can't wait for the finches.

Took this one late yesterday evening at ISO 800, 400mm 5.6

chippingsparrow1JPG-1.jpg

Took these around noon today.

IMG_7152.jpg

IMG_7159.jpg

dang dude!! i like 2&3 alot.
how do you get the backround that dark but keep the subject bright?

I am no expert, but by looking at the eye of the birds, s/he uses a flash. The flash hits the subject then the next thing, say a tree, is so far off, tat the flash doesnt reach. This makes the bacrground really dark. Just my guess. I probably explained it wrong, as I usually do, but its that general concept.

Mark

You're right and wrong at the same time Mark. Flash can be used the way you describe, but I didn't use flash at all here. All three pics were taken from the same position on the same feeder. I placed it in a perfect location, so that the background (dark evergreen trees) remain in the shade, but the feeder recieves nice sunlight from late morning to early afternoon. That is a time that I normally don't shoot because of the bright light, but for birds it works because you want them evenly lit to show detail. As you can see how much nicer the last two pics look, as opposed to the first which was taken in very low light conditions. The trick in the last two is exposing for the bird because the dark background will really throw off a meter reading. I've never tried using fill flash for birds at my feeder, but I may experiment with it. My thinking is that it will scare the birds off, so i'll get fewer pics.

Lovely detail in the feathers, mostly so in the last! I so like sparrows, they're among my favourite birds. Such cheeky little fellows (often), quite "tame" around humans, and nicely shaped (kind of round, not so prolonged as blackbirds, for example).