Thinking bout going to digital

dcobb

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello
Several years ago I got started with photograph as a hobby and pretty much what I’ve learned was self taught. I have a Canon AE1 with a variety of lenses and filters which I really like and have taken some really nice pictures with it in the past. I kinda let it go for a long time but recently I got the ole girl out and with a fresh battery it still works like a charm the problem is that I didn’t realize that the cost of film and processing had went up so much. I have been entertaining the idea of stepping up to a digital SLR which brings me to another problem. Please excuse my ignorance but what little experience I’ve had with digital has been only with my smart phone, which has an eight mega pixel camera. It does take pretty decent photos but it just doesn’t do well with sunsets and rises and in low light it is noisy. So here are my questions if I may. First, do the digital SLR cameras really capture color as well as a film camera? And second, I’ve been looking at the Canon digital s, primarily because I’ve been happy with my AE1, and also the Nikon’s and wondering which may be the better of the two?

Thanks

Hello