Thrown into catalog photography - yikes!

whymzy

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm an artist anyway, dance, music, drawing, painting... so I know a bit about composition. However, I got a promotion at work and with that new job is photography for our "Woodsman Supplies" catalog. I have been taking pictures of screws, chainsaws, pants, chainsaw parts (gag over 200!!) misc. climbing rigging stuff.

My hardest ones to take so far are the pants - any suggestion on lighting? Also taking pictures of bitty screws.... I looked through the forum a bit for anything similar, but didn't find it.

When I got this promo I told em up front I don't have this experience. I do have a white box with a black optional background and 1 2x2 white light, of course a Nikkon 8800 camera. I've read some about it and tried things (macro setting, I can't get a good clear picture with that!) So anyhoo, Any suggestions. When I head back to work, I will put up some things that did turn out well. I'd love to chat with someone who does catalog photography in the range of things I deal with... ie.... small n shiny or clothing. :hail:

Here is something fun I did a couple of years ago.

1152940651_1_FT37_leaf.gif

I was thrown into catalog photography second year at SVA and stayed in it for 5 years. Mostly Home Fashion and JC Penny catalog. Have to say that it was an incredible learning experience although I did not realize it at the time.

Love & Playa

Any suggestions about clothing photography. My outside with model shots work out well, but inside sucks. I brought my iron from home and ended up "shining" a pair of pants! Then when I turned it down it didn't give it a crispy neat look.
I also found out that if I'm having a hard time focusing on little items, maybe I need to swap the battery... ?