Tips for getting jobs - Targeted toward teens

bemmermazda

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
As a teenage photographer, i find in general people do not take me seriously. I am active within my school; i am a main photographer for the newspaper and yearbook. I would like to however do some jobs for some cash.

Is there any way of putting myself out there?

Being the main photographer for your newspaper and yearbook is a big step in the right direction. Good work! First, you should probably consider putting together a small portfolio of your current work. You'll need this to show off your growing skills.

What type of photography do you enjoy? How about studio? I've seen a couple photography technology students in college work part time in family portrait studios. Time is really flexible there and the experience working with customers is good. Most if not all offer training.

The next more demanding type job would be an assistant for a local wedding photographer. Landing one of these might be a bit difficult if there are local colleges with photography programs. Generally, they look for someone more mature (out of college) since they require people who are reliable. (not saying you specifically) As most of their work occurs on weekends, you will need to be prepared to give up some weekends to work.

Since you do photos for your school newspaper, why not try to get into doing photography for your local community newspaper?

skieur

You have an in on one of the most uncomfortable markets: Teenagers. They like photos, but in my opinion most teenagers lack the confidence to take really good pictures, but i have a feeling if they are more comfortable as one of their own, you might be able to get over that hump and really help some people.

Perhaps offer some Senior Pics and Prom Pics, for less than pros can. Just be sure to set your self up as being professional, dont be a kid taking pics of another kid. Take it seriously and don't do them for free.