Ton's of lighting, but photo's still dark?

photographygirl

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I made a cheap photo studio in my guest room, and Have a TON of lights. So bright almost hurts your eyes, and heats up the room VERY fast. Lots of white sheets also to reflect light more. However, when I take a photo with my digital Nikon D50 set on Auto, or Portrait setting, the photos turn out to dark. Looks as thought I have no lights or very little lighting.
(I am not using my external flash) I don't know what to do, or what I'm doing wrong. I am not very good with the Manual setting so I don't know if that would help.
I'm attaching a photo that I took of my set up. A few diffrent angles.
I have 2 100 watt lights, and 2 Holegen lights. I have white silk in front of the holegen lights to diffuse them. No difference in photo if I remove the silk. If anyone could give me a few tips, that would be great! thanks.
samplef.jpg

Your light meter in the camera is picking up all of this light, and then metering for it. It would be similar to if you were shooting towards the sun.
Take your camera off of auto and use a manual setting. Depending on what you are shooting, try either AV or TV.

P.S.
Hello and welcome to the forum

Yep, it's likely too bright for the camera while in auto mode. Thus, the camera is darkening it in an attempt not to blow highlights out (as a simple explanation). You'll need to get out of those auto-modes.

If the images look too dark, you need to use the Exposure Compensation feature on your D50. Press the =/-button and hold it in, then dial in around +1.5 stops of exposure compensation...that should be a good start.