TORN BETWEEN_______?

Mr. Etiquette

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Evenin Photoheads,

Sorta new to the photo field I am a graphic designer by education and trade but use my cam more and more. I am looking to upgrade from fixed lens to DSLR, the entry level goods are nice but won't cover what I am looking to do as far as options go. I currently love my fixed just because of resolution and ease of use and I can tweak the photos to high heaven in photoshop but I am looking for on the fly adjustments that fixed lenses just don't offer and I also need to reach out and take pics of certain objects but I also want the flexibility to interchange lens to take texture shots which require a close up lens. I am still a newbie in this field but am a serious certified Adobe trainer when it comes to graphic design. I need some direction as far as DSLR cameras go so I don't make a HUGE error when it comes to a purchase like a pro cam. PLEASE HELP!!! Right now I am looking a Sony A200, Canon EOS Rebel XTi & a Panasonic Lumix DMC-G1 (just because of the dope multi-directional viewer). If I am way off base please let me know guru's.

Thank You So Much

Are you basing those choices on features, or have you actually gone out to a store and played around with those models? I'm asking because you may get your heart set on one based solely on features and hate the way it feels in your hands, or all the little hoops you have to jump through to use all those features you wanted.

As far as brands.. Sony, IMO, isn't worth the price. You're generally paying for the name. Personal experience is limited to my girlfriends mom's camera.. in which the AF gears in BOTH lenses she has stripped out.. and striped the AF gear in the body while they were at it.

I've never liked Canon, but that's just always been a personal preference. I tried out a Canon when I was shopping for my SLR many years ago and hated the way they felt. I don't have any experience with Canon DSLRs. Same with Panasonic DSLRs.