Triggering a 580EXII with a 600EX-RT

Discussion in 'Lighting and Hardware' started by photostudent1, Aug 29, 2012.

  1. photostudent1

    photostudent1 TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is it possible to trigger a Canon 580EXII with a 600EX-RT? If there was a way that I could put just one PocketWizard receiver on a 600 and trigger the 580 instead of buying another PocketWizard receiver to put on the 580 that would be awesome.


     
  2. rexbobcat

    rexbobcat Been spending a lot of time on here!

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Messages:
    4,938
    Likes Received:
    1,898
    Location:
    United States
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Put the 580 in optical slave mode. It'll flash when it senses the flash from the 600RT
     
  3. photostudent1

    photostudent1 TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm trying to figure out the cheapest way to be able to trigger two flashes from my camera. I already have a 580. Would buying a 600RT and a PocketWizard transmitter and receiver be cheaper than getting a less expensive flash and two PocketWizard receivers?
     
  4. rexbobcat

    rexbobcat Been spending a lot of time on here!

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Messages:
    4,938
    Likes Received:
    1,898
    Location:
    United States
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    You can do it without either...unless the 600EX is setup way differently than the 580EX.

    But if you want to, go ahead and buy another receiver. It's more reliable than the optical slave.
     
  5. table1349

    table1349 Been spending a lot of time on here!

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    3
    Pray tell, how does one do this with the 580?? :D
     
  6. rexbobcat

    rexbobcat Been spending a lot of time on here!

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Messages:
    4,938
    Likes Received:
    1,898
    Location:
    United States
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Hold down the zoom button, use the wheel to select slave mode to be on. It only works if you have another flash as the master though
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. table1349

    table1349 Been spending a lot of time on here!

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    3
    That's not OPTICAL slave mode. That is wireless slave mode. :D
     
  8. rexbobcat

    rexbobcat Been spending a lot of time on here!

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Messages:
    4,938
    Likes Received:
    1,898
    Location:
    United States
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    It doesn't work without sensing input from another flash. It has to "see" the flash from the camera if the camera has a master mode like my 60D.

    I don't exactly know if that's a true optical slave, but it does not work without another flash triggering it.

    Wireless implies that it works like a radio trigger.

    I find what they call it to be very misleading, because I've known people who are like "oh cool, it's wireless! "...Why is it not working..."
     
  9. Tony S

    Tony S Been spending a lot of time on here!

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    2,094
    Likes Received:
    598
    Location:
    Eatonville, Washington
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Optical flash is commonly though of aswhen the flash senses a light from another source, it can be triggered from any flash.

    Canon does confuse things though with the way it describes it's system as "optical based wireless ETTL".

    The Canon 580EXII uses infrared flash, still needs to be line of site and has bad issues in bright sunlight.

    Now here's the good part, the new 600EX-RT is backward compatible with older Canon flash units. It has both systems built into it.

    Canon DLC: Article: Speedlite 600EX-RT: Radio wireless basics
     
  10. table1349

    table1349 Been spending a lot of time on here!

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yep, it is an infrared system that can also be triggered with the ST-E2 in place of a flash unit on/connected to the camera body. Most canon units do not play well with true optical triggers, unlike Nikon units.
     
  11. HughGuessWho

    HughGuessWho TPF Supporters Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    Messages:
    1,642
    Likes Received:
    333
    Location:
    South East Tennessee, USA
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    If you are looking for "the cheapest way to be able to trigger two flashes" take a look at Yongnuo RF-603 Wireless Flash Trigger/Wireless Shutter Release Transceiver Kits
    They are certainly NOT professional grade triggers but work quite well are easy to use and are very reliable.
     
  12. table1349

    table1349 Been spending a lot of time on here!

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    3


    Cheapest is a relative term, depending on the need. If the OP only has one flash currently then a Canon compatible flash may be cheaper than a flash and wireless triggers. Cheapest also is relative to planned future need. More info from the OP could be helpful here.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

600ex 580ex trigger

,

600ex-rt med 580

,

can 600ex trigger 580ex

,

can the canon 580 ex ii be set up as a slave to the 600 ex-rt

,

connect 580 ex and 600 ex

,

is it possible to set the canon 580 exii speedlite as a slave to the 600 ex-rt

,

link canon 600-ex rt and 580ex ii

,

linking 600 and 580 canon slave

,

using a 600ex-rt with 580ex 2

,

will canon 580ex ii trigger the rt600