tripod advice

hot shot

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
right decided to get a new tripod
the criteria are
  • got to be light ish
  • need to ither be able to turn the mount up side down so the camera hangs between the legs or for it to have a pivot arm
  • need to be cheepish as im a student and have no money :lmao:
so what you ya recomend
Cheers

First, 'lightish' is not a good thing. Your enemy is vibration. That's why you use a tripod -- to ensure freedom from motion. Mass (weight) soaks up vibration. Nothing else does. That includes fancy advertising.

Next, look for one with enough height so that you don't have to squat. If you're using a twin lens reflex, your viewpoint is 'belly button' and your tripod can be small. If you use a through-the-lens rig, the tripod must be much taller. Look for good, solid locks on the elevator section (which should be reversable) and on the horizontal and vertical head movements.

I use an old Star D. It's heavy. But lugging it is worth it. When I hit the cable release, I know that I'm getting the absolute best my rig can give me. That pays in full for the weight and the nuisance of lugging it around.

hot shot said:
right decided to get a new tripod
the criteria are
  • got to be light ish
  • need to ither be able to turn the mount up side down so the camera hangs between the legs or for it to have a pivot arm
  • need to be cheepish as im a student and have no money :lmao:
so what you ya recomend
Cheers