tripod

Hazel

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi,
I'm a beginner in photography. I have a canon 5d and my largest lense is a 300mm. Now i'm looking for a tripod for my study. Since I'm quite a beginner I'm not sure yet what I'm going to use it for most. So I want something which is good for indoors and also not too heavy and bulky so I can take it out. I'm thinking of a gitzo 1257 (3 section) or 1258 (4 section) with a 2272m tripod head. Not sure what is better for use and sturdier (btw I'm about 5ft10). And also should a take a geared version or not. Hopefully someone can advise me.
Hazel

In general, tripods are steady in relationship to their weight. The lighter ones [at the same price] use flimsier construction and are less steady. Pick the cheapest, heaviest one you can still lug around. Consider also hanging a 5# weight from the center of the tripod.

If you have a platform on which to rest the camera such as a car roof, simple beanbags may suffice for field work. I've used beanbags to stabilize my 400mm lens.

And don't forget a cable release.

A 300mm doesn't tell much. Is it the 2.8 or 4? Or some zoom?

I don't know anything about the head. I have the bogen 3047, but with carbon fiber legs you might find it too heavy.

I have a gitzo 2220 with 3047bogen. IMO 12xx gitzo tripods would be a bit too light.

I have my eye set on G1329 as my next tripod. It's STURDY and light. You only add 1.5 pounds to the weight of the legs. But I don't have to lug my tripod around too much.

For a travel pod I love these at 1 1/4 lb.

If you want to get one off ebay then consider my previously posted sales pitch...