Troubleshooting: unable to take a sharp shot with Canon EOS1200D

bobbysafety

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi all,

Last summer, I bought a canon EOS1200D (rebel T5) as a replacement for my 50$ point-and-shoot Samsung. After a trip to California, it appeared that most (approx 90%) of the pictures where a little out of focus. I took hundreds of other shots since then with that camera, tried all the different modes (from full-auto to manual) and replaced the two stock lenses with a better Canon 15-85 USM, which cost me a pretty penny.

I realize this is not the best camera out there, but the results should not look like some aquarelle painting. Because I am quite new to photography, I might be doing something wrong. Otherwise, it has something to do with the camera body, since all the other parts were replaced. Using a tripod did not solve the problem.

Attached are a few shots from my latest trip to Cornwall.
smrel3.jpg

and
t9z9l0.jpg

These pictures are not wildly wrong, but they are not sharp enough. Both were taken using one of the auto or assisted modes (landscape mode for the second for sure). All of my pictures are like this, including portraits, etc.

Please let me know if you think I am doing anything wrong or if I should blame it on the gear.

Thank you very, very much!

B.

A few thoughts:

1) Auto modes are somewhat hit and miss. They work, but they don't actually know what you're taking a photograph of; so they weight their settings based on commonly used settings for those scenes. So for example sports tries to get a faster shutter speed; whilst landscape a smaller aperture (bigger f number). In good light they tend to work decently well, but can trip you up.

In both your photos above you've the following setting:
Photo 1
Aperture f4 - decent depth of field and should be sharp
Shutter speed 1/800sec - more than fast enough for walking people, light breeze motion and for handholding for most people. So should be sharp.