Upgrading from D70... D90 or D7000?

TransportJockey

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.stretchermonkeyphoto.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Well I've had a D70 for almost 7 years and loved it. But it's getting a bit long in the tooth and I'm not starting to have problems with it reading memory cards... My onboard flash also died years ago lol. I mainly shoot landscape type shots and have started to get into night urban photography. I also will take pictures of emergency vehicles when I can, but that's usually when I'm at work (I work as a paramedic).I'm looking to stay with Nikon due to that's what I've used and my two main lenses are the Nikkor 18-200mm F/3.5-5.6 and the Nikkor 50mm F/1.8D. I just can't decided if I want to get a D7000 or D90. If I get the D90 I would also have the money to buy a new lens or two as well. (and need some suggestions for lenses that I don't have covered... :( I havn'et looked at new camera gear in a while). My budget is about $1200 or so... Any help would be appreciated.

The D7000 is best, but both will be a lot better than your D70. I had the same decision two years ago and went with the D90. $650 factory demo from Cameta.com and used the extra $550 to buy some lenses. So I guess it depends if you feel like you'd like to add some glass to your lineup? Maybe a ultra-wide or a macro lens?

D7000 no question about it, it wayyy better then the D90. (not that the D90 is bad, but in comparison to the D7000).

The D7000 is best, but both will be a lot better than your D70. I had the same decision two years ago and went with the D90. $650 factory demo from Cameta.com and used the extra $550 to buy some lenses. So I guess it depends if you feel like you'd like to add some glass to your lineup? Maybe a ultra-wide or a macro lens?