Using a light meter

WideAperture

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Good afternoon. I've had a L-308X-U light meters for a while but I've really never understood how to use it. I've read the manual, looked at YouTube videos, etc but I still think there's something missing. I mainly want to use it for outside natural light photography. Let's say I have the mode set to aperture priority and get a reading. Is the reading on the meter what I should set my camera to? Also, if that's what I should set my camera to, why does the ISO never change on the meter?

Sorry for the novice questions, but I'm totally new to light meters.

Long stories short:

Your camera meter is a reflective meter. It measures light bouncing off your subject.
Your Sekonic is an incident meter that measures the light falling on the subject.
Look into the difference between them and the advantages/disadvantages of each.

If you're shooting aperture priority--film or digital--the camera meters from the set aperture and calculates shutter speed at the ISO you've set.

Another pass at the manual might help. You set the ISO but can shift the ISO for a given reading simply by pressing ISO button and adjusting toggle switch up or down.

And yes, set to what the meter reads out--and you'll quickly learn if you're using it correctly.

Have a 308 and couldn't get along without it--deadly accurate, compact, AA-powered.

Good afternoon. I've had a L-308X-U light meters for a while but I've really never understood how to use it. I've read the manual, looked at YouTube videos, etc but I still think there's something missing. I mainly want to use it for outside natural light photography. Let's say I have the mode set to aperture priority and get a reading. Is the reading on the meter what I should set my camera to? Also, if that's what I should set my camera to, why does the ISO never change on the meter?