Using a dSLR as a light meter

Discussion in 'Medium Format & Large Format' started by Samriel, Nov 12, 2008.

1. Samriel

Samriel TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    I'll probably be getting myself a 8x10 Wista by next week, along with a good tripod, some film holders, darkcloth etc. However, a light meter is not included in the package. Now I've read that one could technically use a dSLR's light meter instead to adjust the exposure settings for your view camera.

As I'm new to film photography (35mm, MF, LF or otherwise) and haven't familiarized myself with darkroom work and the Zone System in practice, I'd like to know how this can and should be done, and what are the advantages and disadvantages compared to the use of a spot meter.

Thanks upfront.

2. Steph

Steph No longer a newbie, moving up!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    Well, if you are not bothered about the zone system, you could meter the scene with your dSLR as your normally would and use those settings on your LF camera (not forgetting to take into account filters, bellows extension...). If the dynamic range of the scene falls within the dynamic range of your sensor, chances are they you'll be fine with negative film. When you read about the zone system, you'll understand how a spot meter might be useful to maximise the dynamic range you can record on film.

3. Samriel

Samriel TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    Hmm, so to use the Zone System I'd definitively need a spotmeter. Many people were suggesting the Pentax Digital Spotmeter, but somehow it's not as easy to find in Japan. What is commonly sold and auctioned here is the Minolta F Spotmeter. Any idea if this would do the job as well as the Pentax?