Using a dSLR as a light meter

Samriel

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I'll probably be getting myself a 8x10 Wista by next week, along with a good tripod, some film holders, darkcloth etc. However, a light meter is not included in the package. Now I've read that one could technically use a dSLR's light meter instead to adjust the exposure settings for your view camera.

As I'm new to film photography (35mm, MF, LF or otherwise) and haven't familiarized myself with darkroom work and the Zone System in practice, I'd like to know how this can and should be done, and what are the advantages and disadvantages compared to the use of a spot meter.

Thanks upfront.

Well, if you are not bothered about the zone system, you could meter the scene with your dSLR as your normally would and use those settings on your LF camera (not forgetting to take into account filters, bellows extension...). If the dynamic range of the scene falls within the dynamic range of your sensor, chances are they you'll be fine with negative film. When you read about the zone system, you'll understand how a spot meter might be useful to maximise the dynamic range you can record on film.

Hmm, so to use the Zone System I'd definitively need a spotmeter. Many people were suggesting the Pentax Digital Spotmeter, but somehow it's not as easy to find in Japan. What is commonly sold and auctioned here is the Minolta F Spotmeter. Any idea if this would do the job as well as the Pentax?

So lets say I'm using my dSLR to meter the exposure, and I get a desired exposure of F8, 1/250s, ISO100 on my dSLR with a 50mm lens (APS-C). How would I translate that to my view camera, assuming I am using no filters etc.? Basically, can someone teach me EV calculations, or at least point me to a online or book resource where I could read up on in?