V2 Cactus will only fire 1 flash and not the other

Discussion in 'Photography Equipment & Products' started by blythe, Aug 28, 2009.

  1. blythe

    blythe TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I am having trouble with my V2's, I have two SB-600s and I have attached them to two separate receivers. I want to fire both at the same time but it wont let me for some reason. I can only fire either #1 or I can only fire #2, not both at the same time. Does anyone know what the trick is in doing this properly?

    thanks
     
  2. Big Mike

    Big Mike I am Big, I am Mike Staff Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2003
    Messages:
    33,817
    Likes Received:
    1,811
    Location:
    Edmonton
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    I assume they are all on the same channel...that's the first thing to check.

    Check that the flashes are seated properly on the receivers (or that the cables are tight and working).

    Can you elaborate on the circumstances where one fires and one doesn't? There's no reason why it shouldn't work...but I've found that these thing just aren't all that reliable, which is why I upgraded to CyberSyncs.
     
  3. blythe

    blythe TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    well my first flash is on channel one, then my second flash is on channel two, and the receiver I have both channels on. When I fire them separately they work perfectly fine, both have fire properly just by themselves. That means they are seated properly and should be a go, but for some reason they both wont fire at the same time.

    Please help
    thanks
     
  4. Jaszek

    Jaszek No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,177
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    on the transmitter set the channel with both thingies, lets say both of them at the top. Then on the receivers do the same, both switches on up. Works for me.
     
  5. Big Mike

    Big Mike I am Big, I am Mike Staff Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2003
    Messages:
    33,817
    Likes Received:
    1,811
    Location:
    Edmonton
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Doesn't work that way. There are 4 separate channels.
    1)both switches up
    2)1st one up, 2nd one down
    3)both down
    4)1st one down, 2nd one up

    Set your trigger and both receivers to the same channel (setting) and it should work.
     
  6. blythe

    blythe TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks it finally works now.

    everything has to be up- option # 1
     

Share This Page