Vertical Shot Overload C&C

Dionysus

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Just so happens that my favorite pics from todays session (showing my parents, who are first time visitors to the area, around). It was the first blue sky day in a week. It's been raining pretty consistently up here lately.

IMG_0518.jpg

IMG_0501.jpg

IMG_0528.jpg

IMG_0488.jpg

IMG_0536.jpg

IMG_0497.jpg

lol no one comments on new guy photos? :p

Heh. I find it funny how chrisburke's comment wasn't really a comment...

I think that of this series, 1 is the strongest. I like the composition, but something feels... wrong. On second thought, I think it's the depth of focus. Maybe you should go back, and focus on the boats instead of the log? The blues and ripples are vivid, though, and I like that about it.

thanks i appreciate the comments...i need all the help i can get, as i am still learning. i used a polarizer on most of the water shots, because the sun was at high noon, and everything was looking washed out. I didnt know if i focused on the boats, given how many of them there were, if itd look too busy. I focused on the stake, because in my beginners kick i'm sort of focusing in more on the items we ignore or pass over in our everyday life.

But maybe i'm getting too artistic, before i learn about the fundamentals first.

thanks though.

i like the fifth one down the most. it's too bad you got a bit of lens flair on it though

ya i saw that, what causes that? was some dust, or a smudge on the lens or something?

There are a lot to comment on in here. In general, I'm very drawn to the one of your wife(?) with her baby just next to the window. I think it needs a little more work, but I like the scene very much. I might crop a bit more and bright the light up a bit more so you can see the baby's face just a BIT better.