Website Companies

foxrose3

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello,
I am just starting a home photography business and looking on the web for a website host.

Who have you used, and are you pleased. Need some places to start. Thanks.

I switched hosts last year....and after asking around, I went with HostGator.com.
I have been very pleased with that choice and I highly recommend them.

I use Site5 and it is solid, I can only recall one problem in the past five or six years and that was my husband's fault ;-)

I think you can also use Google to host now, but I'm not sure what that takes or how versatile that it.

I'm a website designer and I use godaddy for everything! I love them - great tech support - tons of space - and cheap!!

If you need a website - http://www.bludomain.com/ does GREAT websites for photographers - and they have $100 templates (honestly, as a webdesigner there is no way to compete with them on flash template prices so I have no prob giving that out haha) and they offer hosting with it.

Godady is okay unless you want to use ssh - they don't allow it. Means you have to use their upload tool or configure your own. I prefer ssh, so I don't use godaddy.

I used Bluehost.com for years. They're excellent and have been around for a long time, which for me gives me more confidence that they're not just going to vanish into thin air one day (as a previous host actually did do). I'm using Hostrocket.com now, which I like for the most part. I'm with them because they have a feature set that bluehost didn't offer.

I have a hosted blog with Wordpress and Blue Host & it was a snap to get it up & running (migrated from a wordpress.com (free) blog to the hosted option).

If you want to get your feet wet, without incurring a ton of expenses, you might want to try a free blog first (Wordpress.com, Blogspot, etc.) & then move from there. I think it depends on how much experience you have with websites.