Wedding pics questions

Johnboy2978

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Website
www.johncountsphotography.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Well, I've been approached by a friend/coworker about perhaps doing the photography at her 2nd wedding in December. Now, I have a lot of reservations about doing this, primarily b/c of the importance of the event and if you screw it up, well, too bad...no re-takes. On the other hand, it would be good experience, and one day I'd like to say goodbye to the mental health field and do photography exclusively, yet I know that I would have to do it on a part time basis to begin with along with my FT job. I also realize that eventually, if I pursue photography, I'll have to do a wedding to exist financially.

So, it's going to be a rather low budget affair and a small wedding (i.e., best man and a maid of honor, not 3-5 of each). Another reservation I have is that I can't ask a lot of money for doing this given that I'm not a pro, however, I know that I will probably spend as much time as a pro would post processing to make it looks as nice as I can. I did this once before for my cousin for free and the pics were decent, not great, but they weren't going to have a photog at all. That was 3 years ago, and I think I developed some ability since then.

So, what would be a fair price for this service? I live in a decent area where the pros ask a decent price (e.g when my wife and I got married 12 years ago, our photos cost ~$1500 for a small album). I know that's a bit unreasonable, but it gives you an idea.

Next question, IF I did this would you offer (1) a dvd of all pics taken (2) a cd of maybe 25-50 which were digitally enhanced and touched up, (3) X amount of prints, or (4) some combination?

Finally, is there a good resource for poses that someone could direct me to? I think I saw something rather recent from Pete that had a checklist that I'll look for.