Wedding Questions

Johnboy2978

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Website
www.johncountsphotography.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
So I have my first wedding coming up 12/29 which I am doing for free, partly b/c it's my first time, and partly b/c they are friends and on limited funds. I met with the pastor yesterday, who was very pleasant, and gave me some do's and don'ts which I suppose are pretty standard (no flash preferably, and feel free to move around during the procession, then try and stay seated) etc. But I have a few questions which I would appreciate comments on.

First, I am thinking that it would be best to stay in Tv mode in a fast paced event like a wedding? I am mainly concerned with not having blurred images, so that seems better than full M mode where I would be juggling other settings.

Second, I would like to try and get as many pics before the actual ceremony than having everyone hang around after and have their guests waiting. How much time to allot before the ceremony? They aren't asking for a lot of pics, just the usual B/G with his/her parents, then individually, then B/G with pastor, etc. Also they want some bride getting ready, garter pics, etc. If the ceremony starts at 5:30pm, would 4pm be reasonable to get this started?

Do you all ever drag out like a strobe flash/umbrella or would you just use a combination of speedlite and church lighting for these pics?

Finally, is it preferable to stay in the very back during the ceremony or get an aisle seat a few rows back and take pics as best you can? It's a small church (maybe 12-15 rows of pews) and I can pretty much cover the ceremony from the rear of the church with my 70-200mm 2.8 lens and tripod I think. That seems to make the most sense to me anyway having never done it.

Opinions/comments certainly appreciated. Other questions to follow I'm sure.

Thanks for any/all responses.