What chemicals to get?

TarterTurtle

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi,
I recently got a developing tank from one of my dad's co-workers and am wondering what chemicals to get. The cheapest at freestylephoto is Arista but I don't know if it's any good. I was considering using Caffinol but decided not to because I am new to this and want to start simple. So what chemicals do you recommend? Thanks
Nathan

For the beginner you can't go wrong with good old Kodak D-76 and standard Kodak fixer. Pre-wash with water, Developer (time dependent on film).... And you do not really need stop bath, just run water through the tank twice after development and then fix 5-10 min. Wash for about 30 min then use Photo-Flo, hang to dry, no need to use a squeegee.

Kodak HC110 is economical and versatile.

D-76 or HC-110 for film developer,regular grocery store white vinegar for stop bath, and I really came to like the pre-mixed Ilford fixer.

For photo paper I think Kodak Polycontrast Rapid resin coated (RC) is the most economical choice, and you have the luxury of changing the grade of paper contrast with a filter set. Ilford also makes fine photographic paper and they also have a multigrade resin coated paper available in at least two finishes, glossy and Pearl.

D-76 and HC-110 are both good film developers, and I will admit that when I was in college I used to use used HC-110 that had developed film to make my contact sheets. I made most of my contacts sheets on Kodak RC paper, and while I don't think it works as well as Kodak Dektol to develop paper, HC -110 will work.

Last edited:
While Kodak Photo-Flo is a good anti-waterspot agent, I have had good results using two drops of liquid dishwashing detergent in one full gallon of water. You don't want lots of bubbles.