What is a good lens for wedding photography?

atseeyob

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
As usual it is time to spend a little on lens. I will be doing my first wedding event this May. I am a backup photographer; therefore, no risk involved. There is different light situation. There will be in door, church, park, and reception. Reading may advice, I came across this one.

Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM Standard Zoom Lens for Canon SLR Cameras

But the price seems a little out of reach ($1100). Is there any thing you can recommend that is comparable to this one. Meaning Sigma or other.

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
Don't scrimp on your lenses... better to "reach" to get a fast L lens than settle for anything less... especially if you plan to learn eventually become a wedding shooter.

My only concern with that lens is that it isn't extremely wide.

Still, L lenses are great lenses.

BTW working as a backup with no pressure is the right way to start learning the wedding business.

That's a great lens for a wedding. The 17-55 f/2.8 IS is a little cheaper, but still around $1000. You could consider renting it for $50-100 if you don't want to tie up a grand and wouldn't need something like this all that often. For inside the church, especially if it's not well lit and they're not allowing flash during the ceremony, even f/2.8 is slow. A longish prime like an 85mm f/1.8 (or even better the 1.4) is great. I shot a wedding also as a backup mostly with an 85/1.8 parked on my D80 and got a ton of great no-flash photos. Worked good at the reception afterwards too getting some candids.