Been spending a lot of time on here!
Reaction score
Website
www.ianforknall.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Here's my situation:

Part 1:
I have been using and loving my Nikon D300s for about 18 months now. It has done me proud and it is a genuine workhorse that I can rely on to do what I want it to do for most projects. However, my employer has just invested in a full-frame Nikon D810 which I have free and exclusive use of, including in my spare time but obviously, it does not belong to me.

Part 2:
After doing some portfolio building and doing some freebies here and there and pimping my business cards about a bit, I am starting now to get enquires about portraits and headshots which is the field I want to head in to, but until now I have been using the computer at work in the evenings to edit my headshots with (they are fine with this arrangement), so I have been saving some money with a view to buying a decent Mac of my own so that I can edit at home.

Part 3:
After using the D810 I'm not sure how much longer I'll be satisfied with my cropped D300s.

So, here is my dilemma:
Do I use the money I've been saving to switch to full-frame and use the computer at work for my editing for a while longer until I have saved enough again for my own one, or do I buy the computer and just use the D810 that I have free use of anyway until I can afford one for myself?

Both sides have their pros and cons, but I can't decide which has the better pros..!

Full-frame or Mac?!

Well it sounds you are pleased with your current camera, unless I'm mistaken.

So I vote Mac!

Macbook or iMac

Yeah, I am, I suppose. But now I've been shooting full-frame for a week... It's given my images a whole new look. That I like.

A lot.

It would be an iMac, not a Macbook.

I'd get the D810 and some big external drives for saving those titanic RAW files and your Lightroom catalogue from your work comp.