Which is better in the long run D40 or D50?

RockDawg

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am a complete beginner and I don't really know anything about photography. All I know is that I really want to get into this as a hobby and learn the ins and outs. I've been researching cameras quite a bit, but unfortunately I don't know enough about them to understand the importance of some of the features. I just know that I want to get a camera capable of high quality images and I don't want to sacrafice quality for ease of use because I am willing to take the time and learn some of the more advanced aspects of photography.

With that said, which is the better choice for image quality alone? The Nikon D50 or the D40? I've read that both are really good cameras and I keep seeing people say how the D40 is easier in some aspects than the D50. Does the increased ease of use come at a loss of image quality in some areas or is the D40 a better camer all the way around?

My main areas of interest would be mostly outdoor landscape scenes and macros if that matters much.

The D50 and the D40 have the same image sensor, so image quality should be a nonfactor. The newer D40X has a new sensor, which may have an edge in image qualtiy. It does have more pixels.

The biggest difference between the two is that the D40 does not have an internal AF motor so it is not fully compatible with many Nikon lenses.

As far as ease of use...I'm sure they are both very similar, that's not something to be concerned with.

Side by side

So they are basically the same? That would seem to make the D40 a more logical choice since I am new and don't already have lenses.

So they are basically the same? That would seem to make the D40 a more logical choice since I am new and don't already have lenses.