Who ownes the photo?

Ciaobella

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello all. I've got a question about who owns a photo. About a year ago, I began taking portrait pictures for my place of business (I'm a programmer for a law firm). The pictures are used for attorney bios as well as an online directory I maintain.

As my skills have improved, I've been asked to take pictures of firm-related events. Recently, a school visited and I was asked to take pictures of the students. Two local newspapers have asked about using the pictures I took for articles they want to run about the event.

I asked the markeing director who set this up if we had waivers signed by the students (he assures me they all signed releases releasing the firm from liability, including pictures, before being allowed on the premises).

The first newspaper contacted me directly and assured me that I would receive credit as the photographer with any pictures they used. The second paper contacted the marketing director. He asked me to turn over the .raw file to them. When I asked if I was receiving credit in that paper as the photographer, he got very irate.

He claims that since I was on 'company' time, the pictures belong to the firm and he can do as he wishes with them and that I'm being unreasonable to expect to be credited. I, however, feel that yes, I was on company time, hence me not charging them to take pictures, but that I should still receive credit as the photographer in whatever publication chooses to use them.

What would be your take on this? Am I being unreasonble to expect to receive credit for my work? Also, while the firm has a waiver in place, can someone come back on me personally for using these images to promote the firm? I'm in new territory here and have to meet with the higher ups shortly to discuss. Thanks for your time in reading this!

**UPDATE**