Why is this picture noisy?

kweinert

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I took this last December with my older camera. It was a bright, shiny day and I liked the result, except that there is so much noise in it.
slide_IMG_0854.JPG

The full-sized image can be seen at http://weinertfamily.org/IMG_0854.JPG

Here's the data for the original image:

File size : 3485273 bytes
Camera model : Canon PowerShot S2 IS
Date/Time : 2006:12:10 14:09:46
Resolution : 2592 x 1944
Flash used : No
Focal length : 39.1mm (35mm equivalent: 246mm)
CCD width : 5.72mm
Exposure time: 0.0005 s (1/2000)
Aperture : f/5.6
ISO equiv. : 400
Exposure bias: -1.00
Whitebalance : Manual
Metering Mode: matrix

Is it because the ISO was set too high?

I'm pretty new to photography - while we had to spend money on film my wife took all the pictures since she has/had a better eye than I do. I end up deleting a lot of images, but I am getting better.

Thanks for any feedback on this one.

Probably because the ISO is at 400. Also, the fact that the camera's a p&s means it'll have a smaller sensor, which equals higher noise factors.

Yes ISO would be the main problem. ISO 400 is not necessary during a bright sunny day.

ISO 100 or even less should be suitable for bright outdoor lighting. At dawn and dusk you would probably use ISO 200 +
and 400 for dark, indoors etc etc..

Probably because the ISO is at 400. Also, the fact that the camera's a p&s means it'll have a smaller sensor, which equals higher noise factors.

I'll just note here that it says ISO equiv - I don't believe I had the ISO set, most likely it was on auto.

I'll not dispute that there's a lot of truth to this. However, I'd be interested in *why* it's so much different than this one, taken about 90 seconds earlier:

slide_IMG_0852.JPG

(full size at
http://weinertfamily.org/IMG_0852.JPG)

The EXIF info on this one is:

File date : 2007:01:02 19:43:37
Camera model : Canon PowerShot S2 IS