wide angle lens..Tokina or Sigma?

excalibur

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I want to get a wide angle lens, and it looks like the Sigma and Tokina are the two brands to choose from...Of course, I'm talking about the brands I can afford...Anyone can give me advise about which one would be the best for the money?...I'm just an amateur who loves to take pictures, mostly when traveling to places like Grand Canyon, Yosemite, Monument Valley, etc..
Thank you

i dont have either or have experience with either, but i do see the tokina 12-24mm used and recommended quite often.

probably the best thing to do (unless someone else comes by that has experience with both types) is to use google search and type in whatever lens you're wanting to find out about and adding the word 'review' after it, ie: tokina 12-24mm review

should give you some pages which may help your choice.

i had the same debate. I was looking at the canon 10-22, tokina 12-24, sigma and the tamron 10-22. I actually ended up with the tamron. The price was good, at 499 at my local shop and actually seeing them side by side and snapping off some pictures with each lens really helped. I wanted the canon, but the 780 price tag was a bit much. I went to the only 2 good shops in town and both recommended the tamron. I have heard both good and bad about that lens, but the fact that it also comes with a lens hood and has a 6 year manufacturer's warranty, if i have any problems with it, i can send it back. So far it's been really sharp and really fun to use! Good luck!

i haven't had experience with Tokina, but I have had a few Sigmas before, and I have been very happy with their glass, its no Nikkor or high grade Canon, but its definately great for the price

The Tokina 11-16mm F/2.8 seem to pretty good according to the lens review.