wide angle vs fisheye

argyle409

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm new to photography I finally convinced my mom to give me her Rebel XT that she never uses so now that I have it I really want to get a fisheye or wide angle lens for it. So what are the advantages to each type of lens from what I know the fisheye is a more curved shot and the corners get cut off so its fun for a while but gets old quick, where the wide angle gives you a stretched picture and is more versatile. Also recommendations for one of two lens that will work with a Rebel XT, thanks.

You've got it mostly right: a fisheye deliberately has a special type of curvy distortion -- basically a really extreme form of barrel distortion. Fun, but hard to use unless you really want that kind of distortion. Straight lines will always curve with a fisheye.

An ultrawide just has enormous perspective distortion, but keeps straight lines straight (the term is rectilinear). They are a lot of fun as well.

Though with a fisheye there are programs out there to flatten them out in post. I like my fisheye but it does have its limit. I mainly have it as my fun lens.

personally i'd go wide (im still in the market for a sigma 10-20)...you can always add that fisheye distortion in post. as said, you can also remove that distortion in post, but for me, i'd be wanting to just shoot wider more often than i would distorted.

Like any lens you will ever get, each lens is made for a certian reason. So it's all about what you shoot and want to be able to shoot. So if you just wanted a lens for fun and not for use for some thing like your schools news paper the fish eye is fine. And it's always nice to have a fast prime lens in your bag( and there cheep!).

Straight lines will always curve with a fisheye.