wonky shots troubleshooting

earthmanbuck

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I just got back a roll from a few weeks ago, and I'm trying to figure out where exactly these shots went so crappy:
FullSizeRender 2.jpg
FullSizeRender 3.jpg
FullSizeRender.jpg

It could be any of the following things, or some combination thereof:
a) Something wrong with the camera (I think this was my first time using this one, which I bought on eBay)
b) it was old expired film
c) Miscalculated light settings (I generally rely on built-in light meters, but because this camera was built for a battery with a voltage they no longer make, I had to wing it and use Sunny 16 [compensating for double exposure shots like #3])

My guess is that it's an "old film" kinda problem, but I am far from an expert and would like to hear what you folks think.

My guess would be old film and underexposed. Old film after development looks very dark for the base has started to develop on it's own (base fog).

My guess would be old film and underexposed. Old film after development looks very dark for the base has started to develop on it's own (base fog).
Does that mean older film generally should be given more exposure than fresh stuff (for example, starting with a "sunny 11" rule or something)?

Generally old film will need more light but that also depends on how it was stored and all that stuff. The best thing to do is shoot a test roll (if you have a batch of rolls from the same time) and go from there.

Looks like real old film.
Looks like film that was overheated.
Looks like old development chemicals.
Looks like a bit of fogging in the camera.
Looks like a bit of fogging in the development.
Looks like a combo of any two or more of the above.

Does that mean older film generally should be given more exposure than fresh stuff (for example, starting with a "sunny 11" rule or something)?