Word of advise on buying Nikon D7100

Vladyxa

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
O master of TPF, newbie here. :hail:
Need final piece of advise.

It is time to replace my D40, to better accomodate 35mm f/1.8 and 18-200mm lenses (man, i feel smart throwing lens specs like that.) :lmao:

I've been doing lot's of research about D7100, comparing it to D600, and D3200 and D5200.

- As I don't want to shell out $2k for D600 and look into getting FX lenses, D600 is out.
- D3200 to me is pretty much upgraded version of my D40 (although very good upgrade). Out.
- D5200 would be perfect, if it was not for newly released D7100. I think D5200 is out too.

So, what's your take on D7100?

I'm still learning about photography, reading books, but I'm pretty confident using modes other than "Auto" (although I am not that confident picking shutter speed yet).
And I want to make sure that when I do learn more and more, the camera can accomodate my needs.

As I can justify in my mind price difference between D5200 and D7100, there should be no question. Right?

Yay, nay?

Thank you!
Vlad

P.S.:
Just say yeah, go for it! So, I can push "Purchase" button in my cart.

Last edited:
Well it's the best DX camera Nikon has right now. DX is fine for 99% of photographers. I don't like the button configuration but that is just me.

- As I don't want to shell out $2k for D600 and look into getting FX lenses, D600 is out.
- D3200 to me is pretty much upgraded version of my D40 (although very good upgrade). Out.
- D5200 would be perfect, if it was not for newly released D7100. I think D5200 is out too.

I think you've answered your own question there, if the 7100 rules out the 5200 and you want to keep your 18-200 then it's a one horse race....unless you want to save a few quid and get the D7000.

My only advice would be to put the letter "c" back in the word advice when asking for advice.

Other than that, dunno..I shoot Canon.

:)