Working for my family's business.. Was my price fair?

TreCoe

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I'm about to graduate college with a BFA in Photo. I live in Savannah. I'm still learning about pricing and would like some input into this situation that has put a lot of strife between family. I was asked by my brother-in-law to photograph his past projects that his company built (All Outdoor: patios, waterfalls, kitchens, fireplaces). My sister was in charge of working out the final payment. I had done some work prior for them before with no issues. This time, they said that we would work out the amount after the work was finished (Yes, I already see everyone shaking their heads). There were 10 locations, in which I had to schedule shoot times with the home owners, and some locations I had to come back to at night for lighting shots. It took over a week to photograph, seeing that the jobs were located all around Atlanta/Gainesville.

With shoot, editing, and 5 hours of drive time I threw in (drive time was way longer<Atlanta traffic!>, but, it's family) and time working with their web developer, I came up with 62 hours. Since this is family, I decided that a fair price would be $25 an hour; which comes to a total of $1550. About 80 photos are being used on the company's website indefinitely, and images are to be printed on a medium sized, box/utility trailer, for advertisement. I'm not factoring in any usage fees.
When I told my sister the price, she flipped out and sent this: