Wow you guys were right...

ZIN

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I asked earlier about Pentax-vrs- Nikon and Canon and many said that glass for the Pentax would be limited but I thought yea right how hard can it be? Well I really liked the Pentax for price and its stability built into the camera bit I have been looking a bit for lenses that I think I might want and there are not many out there for Pentax compared to the other two. I am looking at a macro and a moderate telephoto but I see most are not made for the Pentax.
Not that I doubted everyone I just figured I am just starting out so how hard could it be to please my needs. :hail:

I have a few good macro and telephoto lenses for my Pentax Film SLR, I'm not sure what you're talking about. They're all old as hell and MF, but they work. (I prefer MF)

And all of the k-mount film lenses will fit on the digital bodies. You certainly can't say that for a fair number of Canon and Nikon lenses.

Don't the Pentax digitals use the K mount? I would think there would be an enormous surplus of lenses out there, and on the cheap if you're willing to give up your AF.

I am only looking at AF, and when I punch in certain lens option it seems to be Nikon and Canon on BHphoto anyway. I never said there werent any lenses out there for the Pentax I just said there were not as many options which is what I was told in other threads.

Well what sort of AF lens are you looking for? I guarantee whatever it is, it's out there in K mount, and usually at a price much lower than Canon or Nikon.

As an aside, most Nikon AI/AI-S MF mount lenses do fit the new AF bodies, and almost all F mount ( pre - 1971 or so ) lenses can be retrofitted with AI mount rings. The rings have not been manufactured in a long while but there is old stock for almost all of them if you look hard enough.