1000D to 50D upgrade

mangtarn

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello all,
I am new to the forum and I am already presenting you with a challenge. I have been working with a Canon XS (1000d) for about nine months now. So I have the basics of DSLR photography down pretty well and I can take some decent photos. I recently started "working" (volunteering) as a photographer for my university student newspaper. So I would really like to upgrade my 1000d to something with more capacities. I have been looking at the 50d recently and the photos look very nice. The main thing is higher ISO speed and higher quality.

I looked it up on craigslist and there is a used one and the guy is asking $700. Comes with a grip and three batteries.

I would like to know your opinions on if I need this camera and if that is a reasonable price. Sorry to bombard you with such a long post.

50d is great camera, I am not sure how much better the quality of your photographs will be though. Its not renowned for its high ISO performance, and to be honest I have never compared mine to a 1000d. On the up side, the focus is fast and accurate, it will shoot 6 frames a second, its rugged in the hand and it has 5 more mp (not even sure if 15mp is better than 10 for most people).

In general I like the camera and it may be only internet hype but most other canon cameras (DSLRs) in the last few years reputably perform better at high ISOs.Having said that I have never printed a photo from this camera that I wasnt happy with after minimal post processing. Asking price is subject to condition and shutter count etc, if they are low and its in perfect condition I would think it be worth a little less than asking price

Welcome to the forum.